DHS Diecast Discussion Forum
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

Complete newbie to construction diecast! Where (if possible) to buy YCC's Liebherr LTM 1800 Schmidba Options · View
Paul R
Posted: Tuesday, October 03, 2017 4:36:59 AM

Groups: Member

Uzair wrote:
Welp! I've gone and ordered this YCC LTM 1800. Cost me a pretty penny more than its launch price of £800 so quite a leap for my first construction model. Am feeling a bit nervous as to how it will be in person, and hopefully will arrive safe and sound

CmdrByron thank you for your detailed writeup. I agree with you that on a crane model close-up detail isn't as important as on car models. That said, I intend to have only a few cranes (between 4 to 6) so each one has to be the best possible. I'm glad I could buy the LTM 1800 as one of the best crane models out there. I fully intend to add NZG's LR 1600 and LTM 11200 as the next models. I am just not sure about which livery to get the 11200 in. I missed out on the Mammoet and of the currently available ones:

TER LINDEN
S.E LEVAGE
GUAY
Makro
Max Bögl
Transbiaga
Eseasa

... I am not getting the "must get" vibe from any of these, especially if I end up keeping only one LTM 11200. Can we find out which liveries NZG will do in the future?

Yeah - Paul R's collection is MASSIVE and utterly unbelievable that he can have so many (many!) models of cranes and heavy haulers !!! Where does he even store them and their boxes?

As to reaving, I have zero knowledge and experience so I am sure it will be an interesting experience learning on a complex model such as the LTM 1800!

Uzair,
Of the 11200's you have listed, I'd be looking at the S E Levage one which is yet to be released. This livery is quite popular and I think of those you have listed, this is one that will hold its value. Ter Linden is nice but the boom was painted incorrectly. Same for the GUAY. I also like the Transbiaga.